Hello all.  I don’t really have time for a super-thoughtful entry at the moment.  But I wanted to encourage anyone in the NYC area to check out the Frans Hals exhibit at the Met before it closes October 10th.  I finally got to see it the other day and it’s great.  I’d seen a bunch of his work in my various art history classes, and getting to see the pieces in person was awesome.  I could really see the texture of the paint, the brushstrokes and all the little details.  There was one piece I stood in front of, just staring at the way he’d depicted the lace.  So yes, if you have any interest in paintings of this kind, I highly recommend getting your butt over to the Met. 

Frans Hals, Merrymakers at Shrovetide, oil on canvas, 1616

P.S. – The exhibit Infinite Jest: Caricature and Satire from Leonardo to Levine is also really fun, but you have until March to see that one.

